Town & Regional Planning Department of Sabah (TRPD) was established on 2nd January 1980 as an agency under the purview of Ministry of Local Government & Housing. Prior to the establishment, the task of making town and regional plans was helmed by a unit under Land & Survey Department.

In its early years, the Department was originally headquartered at the building that also originally housed the head office of Sabah Housing & Town Development Board, also an agency under the same Ministry. In 1985, the Department relocated to its new head office at Wisma Tun Fuad Stephens, which was completed in the same year. The Department's head office remain in this building until today.

The establishment of TRPD is in accordance with the provision of Town & Country Planning Ordinance (Sabah Cap. 141). With the initial workforce of only 21, the number has since increased to almost 100. The Department also established two more regional offices in Sandakan and Tawau.





JPBW Official Logo

The Department's official logo was launched by YB. Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Hajiji bin Haji Noor, the then Minister for Local Government & Housing on 12th December 2013 in Kota Kinabalu in conjunction with World Town Planning Day 2013. The logo consists of three colours; Blue symbolises the efficient and honest delivery of services; Red symbolises high quality and resilient development; and Green symbolises harmony and sustainability in balancing the needs of the development with the natural environment.